海洋世界:两条造浪河比一条更棒!

2016年4月1日

维瓦尔第公园海洋世界是韩国最受欢迎的夏季游乐目的地之一。这里汇集了丰富多样的水上乐园设施,占地面积超过120,923,200平方英尺,一次可以容纳23,000名游客。据国际主题公园协会与艾奕康公司(TEA-AECOM)联合发布的《2014年游客量报告》数据显示,海洋世界在全球前20家水上乐园中排名第5位,年游客量达到160万人次。在2013年,海洋世界曾排名前4位,并自2010年以来在游客量方面一直稳居全球前10家水上乐园。

没有战略成长,海洋世界也不可能一次容纳这么多水上乐园游客。他们通过增加白水公司造浪产品,进行了一次又一次投资,以提高游客接纳能力。

设施扩展使得年游客量不断增加,并延长了游客停留时间,进而促进了门票销售、食品与饮料销售和整体收入。

成长机遇

海洋世界正面临打破记录的年游客量,这对海洋世界来说是一个挑战,因为游乐设施内的游客拥挤情况始终非常严重。由于园内拥挤情况已开始损坏其公共形象,因此需要寻求扩展解决方案。海洋世界需要一个使其能够再三扩展乐园容量,同时提升游客体验和乐园公共形象的解决方案。造浪产品创造很多机会来提升容量,提供有趣刺激体验的同时增加进入园内所有区域的通道。

造浪历史

海洋世界于2006年为极限河增加了第一个也是仅有的一个造浪产品。该造浪河宽度为5米,装有液压造浪设备,可沿着波浪通道全程造浪,并在投入使用后广受欢迎。由于地区其他大部分乐园都只有漂流河,因此,增加造浪产品的极限河极大地提高了海洋世界的竞争力;它在乐园游客中获得巨大的成功,并为将海洋世界打造成一个著名的游乐目的地迈出了第一步。

2007年,为使游客能够尽情地享受波浪乐趣,海洋世界再次以另一种方式进行了扩展。这一次,海洋世界增加了冲浪造浪池。此液压造浪设备可造出8米高的波浪,为游客带来了无限的冲浪乐趣,此设备使海洋世界具备了其他水上乐园无法比拟的竞争优势,并很快在该地区受到广泛欢迎,凭借冲浪设施的独特性,海洋世界超越了其竞争者,成为水上乐园游客的首选。

经历破纪录的游客量后,随着拥挤情况不断加剧,著名的韩国水上乐园——海洋世界必须采取行动进一步扩展游客容量。2014年,鉴于原有极限河取得的成功,海洋世界又增加了第2条极限河(称为超级极限河)。通过增加第二条河流,海洋世界不仅扩展了游客容量,而且还改善了整个乐园的客流情况,因为河流围绕游乐设施蜿蜒流淌,经过食品与饮料销售摊位,并可进入不同公园区域,从而改善了拥挤情况。

“在进行各阶段造浪游乐设施扩展后,游客容纳能力得到大幅提高,并且由于解决了拥挤问题,大明海洋世界的公共形象也得到了改善。”

Yeonsoo Lee

海洋世界总经理

结果:

  1. 增加了整个乐园的年游客量
  2. 缩短了游玩等候时间
  3. 延长了游客的停留时间

这些因素促进了门票和食品与饮料销售;提高了总体销售收入和游客对海洋世界的印象——整体造浪情况获得了极大的改善。

Ocean World: Two Wave Rivers Are Better Than One!

April 1, 2016

Vivaldi Park Ocean World is one of the most popular summer destinations in Korea. Their diverse collection of waterpark attractions sprawl over 120,923,200 sq. ft. and can accommodate up to 23,000 people at once.  Numbers released in the 2014 TEA-AECOM Attendance Report have Ocean World ranked #5 out of the top 20 waterparks worldwide with an annual attendance of 1.6 million visitors. In 2013, Ocean World was ranked #4 and have consistently sat amongst the top 10 waterparks worldwide in terms of attendance since 2010.

It’s not without strategic growth that Ocean World has been able to host this many waterpark visitors at one time. They have invested and reinvested in growing their capacity by adding WhiteWater wave products.

The expansions have resulted in increased annual attendance and extended staying time of their customers which in turn boosted ticket sales, food and beverage sales and overall revenue.

An Opportunity for Growth

Ocean World was facing record-breaking annual attendance, which was posing to be a challenge as congestion was at an all-time high. An expansion solution was needed because the in-park congestion was starting to damage their public image. Ocean World required a solution that allowed them to expand the capacity of their park again and again, while boosting the guest experience and the park’s public image. Wave products offer multiple opportunities to grow capacity, increase access to all areas of the park while providing a fun and exciting experience.

An Evolution of Waves

Ocean World added their first and only wave product to the waterpark in 2006, the Extreme River. The 5m wide river with hydraulic wave equipment created waves all along the wave channel and became hugely popular. The Extreme River was added to increase Ocean World’s competitiveness because the majority of the other parks in the region only had Lazy Rivers; it was a huge success among park guests and was the first step in putting Ocean World on the map.

In 2007, Ocean World expanded yet again with another way for their guests to enjoy waves. This time it was in the form of a Surf Wave Pool. The hydraulic wave equipment creates 3 meter high waves that visitors can surf on. This addition was added to compete directly with other waterparks quickly gaining popularity in the area; the uniqueness of the Surf Waves encouraged waterpark goers to choose Ocean World over its competitors.

After experiencing record-breaking attendance numbers at the popular Korean waterpark, Ocean World had to take action to expand their capacity even more as congestion increased. In 2014, a 2nd Extreme River (dubbed the Super Extreme River) was added because of the success of the original river. This second river allowed Ocean World to not only expand their capacity but to improve guest flow within the entire park as the river weaves around attractions, passes food & beverage options and provides access to the different park areas, thus improving the congestion issue.

“Customer capacity has been largely increased following the phased expansion of the Wave attractions and the public image of Daemyung Ocean World also improved due to eliminating congestion.”

Yeonsoo Lee

General Manager, Ocean World

The Result:

  1. Annual attendance of the overall park has been increased
  2. Length of waiting time has been shortened
  3. Staying time of the customer has increased

These factors created an upward trend in sales of ticket and F&B; total sales and guest perceptions of Ocean World increased – overall wave additions have had very positive outcomes!